埃尔兰根大学医院配备 24 间门诊室,16 个科室,6 个研究机构以及 1400 张病床,涉足现代医学的各个领域。该医院拥有 1400 名员工,研究结果为医院所实施的预防、诊断和治疗工作设置了标准。

 

从技能培训到现场模拟

Chief Pediatrician Michael Scroth如果医生不会使用袋瓣面罩,那么将病人从手术室转移到恢复室时,该设备便起不了什么作用。首席儿科医生 Michael Scroth 认为,这个例子说明,在病人最需要帮助的时候,医生无法为其提供安全、有效的护理服务,尤其在新医生中间这种现象更为普遍。

尽管早在十年前,埃尔兰根大学医院已经开展了技能培训,但 Scroth 先生相信,若能使用医护人员们经常会用到的工具和设备对其进行集体培训,效果将更为显著。2007 年,埃尔兰根大学医院购买了 SimBaby 模拟器,下一步他们打算找个地方安放这台培训设备。

 

获得培训设施

Scroth 医生将其办公室腾出了几平方米的地方,以安放这台设备。在办公室一角另外支起两面墙,一个小型模拟室便形成了,而办公室的对角便成为情况汇报和控制区,同事们可在该区域内通过墙上的屏幕观察其他人的表现并从中学习经验。

 

The new training facility showing SimBaby in a hospital crib, crash cart and monitor equipment.

The new training facility showing crash cart and office desk. 

The simulation facilities integrated with Dr Schroth's office.

德国第一家开展现场培训的医院

“我认为,2008 年才开展现场培训有点晚了,但现在看来,我是近几年来德国唯一一个这样做的人。”Scroth 医生解释说,起初他的同事们对他这种做法持怀疑态度,担心即使将培训设备安放在病房,也没有足够的时间进行培训。但最后,他证明了,这种有针对性的培训方法是非常有效的:

“受训人员很快便意识到自己的不足之处,并且如果看到有经验的医生们也接受培训,年轻的医生便更容易接受培训。这种培训方法能够让受训人员看到自己的不足之处但同时又不会令其太尴尬。

他们也开始学习睁开双眼;现在他们看到的是孩子(模拟器)而并非监视器,就好像他们第一次接受全面、身临其境的模拟培训一样。受训人员会有一种身临其境的感觉!这是同样的急救车,他们了解该设备。

可以这么说,通过现场培训,我们能够当场采取措施。我们可以让其他医护人员站到一边,快速应对不久前刚刚发生的事件。由于是根据现实生活中出现的紧急情况设置场景,学习目标更为清晰,因此也更容易实现。

当看到同学们在多年之后仍能记得大多数模拟场景,这实在太令人惊奇了。完成 80% 的受训课程后,受训人员或多或少会清楚自己需要掌握哪些知识。

通过参加这一培训,年轻医生能够很快确定紧急情况,并知道自己能够应付这种情况,直到有经验的医生到达现场。因此,他们的自信倍增。”

Dr Hans-Georg Topf Dr Hans-Georg Topf 医生是埃尔兰根大学医院的一名模拟培训讲师,他非常热爱这种培训方法。“我最喜欢它的地方在于,不管你的技能处于何种水平,你都能够和任一组受训人员开始任一场景的模拟。在学生们看来,这种培训方法能够让他们将所学的知识付诸实践。他们不再只是思考一旦发生某种情况应该做些什么;现在,他们正在将其付诸实践

 

课程

埃尔兰根大学医院已制定出一套场景,这些场景能够反映儿科及新生儿病房内最常发生的临床状况和紧急情况,并且非常重视互动和团队协作。包括以下场景:

  • 基本生命支持
  • 新生儿基本生命支持
  • 新生儿心动过缓
  • 支气管炎和呼吸系统疾病
  • 心搏停止
  • 脑震荡
  • 脱水病和肠胃炎
  • 脑膜炎
  • 代谢紊乱
  • 新生儿感染(全身炎症反应综合征)
  • 突然发作
  • 新生儿心动过速(阵发性室上性心动过速)

 

受训人员、培训频率和持续时间

在儿科、新生儿和成人重症监护病房工作的所有医生,应至少每三个月接受一次模拟培训。

在时间充裕的情况下可开展日常培训,并且在大多数情况下这些培训是在病房内指定的培训设施上完成的;在儿科医院的紧急护理室和其他科室内开展其他培训。 

有时医生和护士会共同接受培训,但大多数受训者均为医生、医学生(平时受训)和外部客户(周末受训)。

With its 24 clinics, 16 departments, six institutes and 1400 beds, University Hospital Erlangen comprehends every field of modern medicine. Research results from Erlangen are setting standards for the prevention, diagnostics and therapy carried out at the hospital where 1400 employees have their daily work.

 

From skills training to in situ simulations

Chief Pediatrician Michael ScrothBringing along the bag valve mask when transporting patients from the operating theater to the recovery room is not of much help when the doctor in charge is not capable of using the device. Chief Pediatrician Michael Scroth says this example demonstrates an inability, seen in new doctors especially, to provide safe and effective patient care when it is needed the most.

Although skills training had already been implemented at Erlangen a decade earlier, Mr Scroth was convinced that having collegues train together, using the tools and equipment they normally use, would generate much better results. A SimBaby simulator was purchased in 2007 and the next step was finding a place to set up the training equipment.

 

Obtaining training facilities

By sparing part of his personal office, Dr Scroth was able to provide the few square meters he needed to set up the equipment. Two extra walls were put up to facilitate a small simulation room in one corner, and the opposite corner of the office was designated as the debriefing and control area, from which colleagues could observe and learn from their peers' performance via a screen placed on the wall. 

 

The new training facility showing SimBaby in a hospital crib, crash cart and monitor equipment.

The new training facility showing crash cart and office desk. 

The simulation facilities integrated with Dr Schroth's office.

First German hospital to start in situ training

''I thought I was kind of late implementing in situ training in 2008, but it turns out that I was the only one up until recently here in Germany.'' Dr Scroth explains that his colleagues were skeptical at first, worrying that there wouldn't be enough time to train, even with the training equipment located right on the ward. He has shown, however, that the localized training is both efficient and effective:

''The participants are very quickly made aware of their personal limitations - and it's much easier for younger doctors to accept the need to train when they see the experienced ones are doing it. Exposing ones own shortcomings becomes less embarrassing that way.

They also learn to open their eyes; now they look at the child (the simulator) and not the monitors, like they did when they first started fully immersive simulation training. The participants really experience that they've 'been there!' It's the same crash cart, they know the equipment.

In situ training enables us to act on the spot, so to speak. We can take colleagues aside and quickly address incidents that occurred only moments earlier. By tailoring the scenarios to emergency situations that play out in real life, learning objectives that have become apparent along the way are hence being addressed. 

It is amazing to see how students remember most of the scenarios they go through years later. After completing 80% of the curriculum, the participants have more or less been through what they need to know. 

This training enables young doctors to identify emergency situations sooner and to understand that they are able to bridge situations until a senior resident appears. It is an enourmous gain of confidence.''  

Dr Hans-Georg Topf Dr Hans-Georg Topf, also simulation instructor at Erlangen, is just as enthusiastic. ''What I like most is that you can start any scenario at any skill level, with any group of participants. Students say the training gets their knowledge 'on the road.' Instead of thinking about what they would or should have done in a situation they now do it.   

 

Curriculum

University Hospital Erlangen has developed a set of scenarios that reflect the clinical conditions and emergency situations most frequently seen in the pediatric and neonatal wards. Interaction and team work is highly focused. The scenarios include:

  • Basic life support
  • Basic neonatal life support
  • Bradycardia in neonates
  • Bronchiolitis and respiratory disorders
  • Cardiac arrest
  • Comotio cerebri
  • Exsiccosis and gastroenteritis
  • Meningitis
  • Metabolic disorders
  • Neonatal infections (SIRS)
  • Seizures
  • Tachycardia (SVT) in neonates

 

Participants, frequency and duration of training

All doctor employed at the Pediatric, Neonatal and Adult Intensive Care units are required to perform at least one facilitated simulation training every three months. 

Daily training takes place whenever there is time and these sessions are mostly conducted in the designated training facility on the ward, while others take place in the Emergency Department and elsewhere in the Pediatric Hospital. 

Doctors and nurses train together on occasion, but the majority of participants are doctors, medical students (on week days) and external clientele (on weekends).